Print This Recipe!

Source:

Tasty Treats By Michi Original
Picture

*Updated on 01/14/10*

My dad owned a restaurant pretty much my entire life and this restaurant had the best potato soup, by far.  I almost never went there without ordering it.  Of course, it was loaded with butter and cream so I haven't had it in years.  

Yesterday, I decided to attempt to remake the soup into a low fat version at home.  I was really wary of how it would taste because of the fact that I was cutting out basically all of the important fats.  I honestly thought that I might end up throwing away a couple of pounds of potatoes, along with a lot of onions and other ingredients. Amazingly, the outcome was creamy, rich, and delicious!  The fat free half and half actually worked as a substitute, along with the low fat buttermilk. The toppings made all the difference too, the turkey bacon on top was the perfect flavoring to add that little extra "something" to every bite.  I definitely recommend this recipe.  It was so good that in two days, the huge pot is practically gone.  I thought I would be freezing half of it, but there is barely any left! 

Ingredients for Soup: 
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil 
  • 2 large white onions, chopped 
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup fat free half and half (any brand that doesn't have mono & diglycerides, like Publix)
  • 1 cup 1% buttermilk (McArthur)
  • 1/2 cup of Nonfat Greek yogurt (Oikos)
  • 2 pounds Idaho potatoes or Yukon Gold potatoes (I only had Yukon Gold), washed, peeled and cubed into large bite-sized pieces 
  • 1/2 tsp salt, plus more to taste
  • 1/2 tsp Italian Seasoning 
  • 1/4 tsp hot sauce (Cholula is our favorite)
  • 32 ounces of Organic Chicken Broth 
Ingredients for Toppings:
  • Fat Free Cheddar Cheese, shredded (Kraft of Lifetime)
  • Nonfat Greek Yogurt (Oikos)
  • Green onions, chopped
  • 98% Fat Free Turkey Bacon, chopped and cooked

Peel and chop the onions and set aside.  Wash, peel, and chop the potatoes into large bite-sized cubes.  This soup is not creamed at all, so the chunks cannot be too large to eat. 

Heat olive oil over medium low heat.  Toss the onions in the olive oil and saute for a few minutes until soft and translucent.  Add the flour to the onions, stir to coat the onions and then saute for 5 more minutes.  After that, add the chicken stock, half and half, buttermilk and yogurt and stir continuously until smooth. Finally, add the spices, hot sauce, and potatoes. Stir some more and then cover the soup and simmer on low for 45 minutes to an hour, until the soup has thickened and the potatoes have cooked.  Stir the soup occasionally and check the flavoring before serving. Add more salt or hot sauce if necessary. 

While the soup is simmering, cook the bacon.  Chop the bacon and saute in a nonstick pan with some canola oil cooking spray until browned and cooked through and set aside.  Chop a couple of green onions and set aside as well.  

Serve the soup hot with toppings.  Enjoy this amazing and hearty soup! 
12/31/2009 01:08:06 pm

Wow! Great recipe, and awesome site -- mind if I link to you on mine? I've just started the Swank Diet, and I'm sure I'll be frequenting. :)

Reply
12/31/2009 01:31:53 pm

Thanks, Racheal! I'm glad you liked the recipe and good luck on Swank!! I hope you can find more recipes you love on my blog.

Of course you can link me on your site, just please give me credit for any recipes or pictures you use :)

Reply
Jeanne
1/7/2010 03:04:56 am

You don't even know how much I have decided I love you! I have recently started the Swank diet and have been feeling very sorry for myself! Just the potato soup recipe alone is making me so happy! It'smy favorite food in the world & now I know I can still have it!

Thanks!

Reply
1/7/2010 08:20:49 am

I'm so glad, Jeanne! Don't feel sorry for yourself, there are TONS of yummy recipes and foods out there for you to eat on Swank - you won't go without!

I hope my soup is a good substitute for your favorite!

Reply
Amanda
1/14/2010 09:12:57 pm

Me and my husband just LOVED this soup! It was soooo good! We will be making again soon :D

Reply
1/17/2010 07:03:44 am

I made this on Friday evening and thought we would have enough for the whole weekend, but it was so good that it was gone by lunch on Saturday. Cody loved it! Thanks Meesh. :)

Reply
1/11/2011 05:41:25 pm

Life is measured by thought and action, not by time

Reply
2/27/2011 08:45:29 am

Life is like to climb a mountain, and find a way, Is a process of learning, We should in the process, Learning stability,Calm, Learn how to find vitality from panic.

Reply
3/2/2011 08:32:53 am

Just need to say your article is striking. The clearness inside your put up is merely spectacular and i can take for granted you're an expert on this field. Properly with your permission enable me to grab your rss feed to preserve up to date with forthcoming put up. Thank you a million and please preserve up the successful function.

Reply
3/22/2011 11:27:39 am

I'm just surprised to discover how significantly of details I received on this specific topic. I m so really thankful of you. A single point I could assert that, after reading this article I became preserved from the whole ineffective search I ought to have carried out on this particular matter. Your write-up can be a authentic wonderful point in disguise.

Reply
3/29/2011 05:44:02 pm

Goals determine what you are going to be.

Reply
4/18/2012 04:15:37 pm

http://www.coachoutletonlinelife.com
http://www.mycoachoutletstoreonlinee.net
http://www.coachoutletstoreonlinem.net
http://www.coachfactoryoutletx.com
http://www.coachfactoryoutletonline-top.net
http://www.coachfactoryoutletc.com

Reply
4/18/2012 06:39:26 pm

I appreciate deeply for the kind of topics you post here. this information very useful and it has considerably saved my time. Thanks for allowing to comment to your post. Keep up the good work. Thanks

Reply
4/19/2012 01:39:08 pm

The Louis Vuitton piece is sure to make an impression on any travel mates you may have or even just to those sitting next to you in the airport, awaiting their flight.

Reply
4/19/2012 04:58:15 pm

http://www.coachoutletusa-top.net
http://www.coachfactoryonlinea.net
http://www.coachoutletonline-top.net

Reply
4/19/2012 06:16:41 pm


http://www.coachoutletusa-top.net
http://www.coachfactoryonlinea.net
http://www.coachoutletonline-top.net

Reply
4/23/2012 09:55:30 pm

Your blog is very beautiful, the style is very cool! See the things that I think is very interested in oh, thank you for sharing! I wish you good luck!

Reply
4/24/2012 02:48:57 pm

very interesting. Thank you for your sharing...........

Reply
5/4/2012 12:23:05 pm

lin0505Your post have been very helpful!I am very great to see that!There will be good discount in order to back the support of majority of customers. http://www.cheaptoryburchonlines.com.

Reply
xx
7/19/2012 06:12:58 pm

"Yes, need to get committed and obtain committed virtually no matchmaker can't do. In the old social manners publication, "rites" associated with matrimony approach has become plainly outlined, "Six Man": Nace, in addition to asked, Nagy, fulfilled which the levy, period of time, pro-greet.
http://xiamao.edublogs.org/2012/07/20/your-gold-diamonds-band-band-band-means-that-the-newest-matrimony-cultures-number/

Reply



Leave a Reply.