Picture
Okay, as some of you probably already know, I'm currently in the hospital getting a treatment of steroids for my MS.  Staying in the hospital is never fun for anybody, but I would say one of the worst reasons is the horrible food.  I simply don't understand why it's so nasty.  Is it because they have to cook for so many people?I understand that recipes can't be complicated to feed the masses, but there are so many simple recipes that are healthy and delicious that I just don't understand why the chef doesn't research and take care of it!  I mean if you glance up at the limited menu above, it's so unappetizing and so unhealthy. More unhealthy and unappealing that it sounds even because of the lack of salt and hidden fattening ingredients. 

Italian Style Spaghetti and Meatballs?  What other style is there?  Seasoned Pork Loin?  No thanks. Beef Tips?  I'll pass on the heart attack. Ham and cheese? Really? Ham and cheese?! 

The worst part is, everything they consider "healthy" is all made with butter or margarine still and has zero salt or any other flavoring.  Mmmm sign me up for a plate of green beans made in the microwave with no seasoning and some margarine please! 

Ugh.  This is always one of the worst parts of being here for me.  They can't accommodate my diet, and if they do it's so bland that it's inedible and I end up having to have people bring me real food so I don't starve.  I'm hopefully going home tonight where I can have some delicious turkey chili to warm me to the core and make my tummy happy! 

Sorry for the ranting post, I just simply don't get it why it's so bad.  I see a connection here with school cafeterias and hospital cafeterias.  We really need an intervention to improve food in these places!  Maybe Whole Foods can sign up?  A girl can dream :)

1/4/2010 03:22:44 am

This is something that I've always wondered, myself.

I mean, it's a HOSPITAL for sobbing out loud! If ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD should have healthy food, it should be the place where you go to become healthy when you are not - and yet, they can't seem to do better than Sysco canned crap heated by microwaves and heatlamps. It's pathetic.

It's like it's not bad enough that you feel like crap. They have to add insult to injury while they're charging you out the ass for it too.

I think I've finally come to terms with the fact that the medical community is filled with people who are ALSO just doing their best to run a business.

The folks who are in charge of food are people who run cafeterias - just like you said! They have to provide food for changing numbers of people, so I'm guessing most of the food isn't fresh. They probably don't know from day to day how many people are going to be there or not, what their dietary restrictions are going to be like, or what - so they probably don't even think about it. They just offer as many options as they can and leave it to the patient to make their own food choices.

Last time I was in the hospital, my family ended up bringing in food because even they realized that after 5 days, there was just no way I could continue to survive off of chicken fingers, soggy green beans, and yogurt with granola. I was there for 12 days total before they diagnosed the seizure disorder, so I was *incredibly* grateful for them bringing in the noms! :)

Hope you're not in the hospital much longer, and that you're feeling better soon!

Reply
Mona
1/4/2010 04:07:24 am

I totally understand. I had a gastric bypass and had to go to another hospital to recover after a complication.

The food there was horrible. They were even serving me things that I couldn't eat due to my surgery.

I spent the first week on a puree diet and they pureed everything with cream of wheat soup, which I can't eat.

Then when I went to real food breakfast was a greasy sausage and most bypass patients dump on fats... I was so angry. I would have to send it back and ask for a tuna sandwich and peel the bread off and eat just the tuna. The sandwiches were made with low fat mayo. That was my only saving grace.

I think they do it on purpose so we will get better quicker just to be able to go home and eat.

I hope you get to go home soon!

Reply
Hollie
1/13/2010 01:48:33 pm

I can relate, I was in the hospital for 2-1/2 weeks in 2008 with the worst attack I ever had; my hubby would bring in "legal" food, but I still had to eat at least 2 meals a day there. Bleh.
I am praying for your speedy recovery, get well soon!!

Reply
1/13/2010 03:34:38 pm

How can we feel this way and nothing has been done about this? I know it's not only us! Everyone that goes to the hospital complains about the terrible food. Especially those of us that have to go there for an extended stay every once and a while.

I'm going to look into this! We need to raise awareness!

Reply
2/6/2011 01:34:04 pm

Every year, at this time of the year, I think about changing my eating habits and incorporating more nutritious food into my diet. But with the end of Christmas and the beginning of a new year, my resolution also ends. Your recipe is motivating me to stick to my healthy diet resolution. Cool…you are a genius…

Reply
2/17/2011 11:25:53 am

I like,that's a sign of a good blog post.

Reply
4/28/2011 05:07:56 pm

Thank you very much. I am wondering if i can share your article in the bookmarks of society.Then more friends can talk about this problem.

Reply
4/17/2012 01:39:47 pm

i trully enjoy most of your articles and your different point of view. Thanks.

Reply
4/18/2012 04:22:56 pm

http://www.coachoutletonlinelife.com
http://www.mycoachoutletstoreonlinee.net
http://www.coachoutletstoreonlinem.net
http://www.coachfactoryoutletx.com
http://www.coachfactoryoutletonline-top.net
http://www.coachfactoryoutletc.com

Reply
4/18/2012 06:45:00 pm

I appreciate deeply for the kind of topics you post here. this information very useful and it has considerably saved my time. Thanks for allowing to comment to your post. Keep up the good work. Thanks

Reply
4/19/2012 01:50:53 pm

The Louis Vuitton piece is sure to make an impression on any travel mates you may have or even just to those sitting next to you in the airport, awaiting their flight.

Reply
4/19/2012 05:04:13 pm

http://www.coachoutletusa-top.net
http://www.coachfactoryonlinea.net
http://www.coachoutletonline-top.net

Reply
4/23/2012 09:59:37 pm

Your blog is very beautiful, the style is very cool! See the things that I think is very interested in oh, thank you for sharing! I wish you good luck!

Reply
5/4/2012 11:59:44 am

lin0505Your post have been very helpful!I am very great to see that!There will be good discount in order to back the support of majority of customers. http://www.cheaptoryburchonlines.com.

Reply
5/20/2012 07:27:56 pm

Nice to very useful info for me.Because i'm new in blogging and i'm need good tutorial like your post

Reply
5/25/2012 05:13:33 pm

Your post is really wonderful, thank you!

Reply
6/3/2012 04:30:34 pm

Glad to visiting your website,it's nice thank you for your article

Reply
6/3/2012 04:37:03 pm

nice article,good website,I'll book mark you.

Reply

I was just looking for this information for a while,good!

Reply

Thank you for giving the awesome suggestions for us to order. <a href="http://www.hervelegerlongsleevedress.com/">Herve leger dress</a> belong to famous french brand. <a href="http://www.hervelegerlongsleevedress.com/herve-leger-bandage-c-1145.html">Herve leger bandage</a> itself means participants wear official clothing to attend important ocaasions. Because each place of <a href="http://www.hervelegerlongsleevedress.com/herve-leger-double-strap-c-1146.html">herve leger double strap</a> is appressed to skin and carves out womens slim shape, so it is also called "<a href="http://www.hervelegerlongsleevedress.com/herve-leger-high-neck-c-1147.html">bandage dress</a>". From 2007 summer, Max Azria designed first cocktail <a href="http://www.hervelegerlongsleevedress.com/herve-leger-long-sleeve-dress-c-1148.html">herve leger long sleeve dress</a>, then <a href="http://www.hervelegerlongsleevedress.com/herve-leger-round-neck-c-1149.html">herve leger round neck</a> company made cooperation with adult garments wholesaler and bring these <a href="http://www.hervelegerlongsleevedress.com/herve-leger-single-strap-c-1150.html">herve leger single strap</a> to all over the world. Many hollywood stars love wearing <a href="http://www.hervelegerlongsleevedress.com/herve-leger-skirts-c-1151.html">herve leger skirts</a>, which can suit with <a href="http://www.hervelegerlongsleevedress.com/herve-leger-strapless-c-1153.html">herve leger square neck</a> and jimmy choo pumps pefectly. Except various dresses, herve leger bcbg company also involved in other bussiness. However, most famous is always their <a href="http://www.hervelegerlongsleevedress.com/herve-leger-swimsuit-c-1154.html">herve leger swimsuit</a>.

WYF

Reply
7/5/2012 10:15:47 am

Moncler Outlet is a such useful place that can offer matchless down jackets. Of course, Moncler Vest is another kind of product. Shopping in Moncler online store is highly accepted among young people. You are certain to find your pleased item in the Cheap Moncler shop online.

Reply
7/5/2012 04:20:17 pm

My goal is to return to their office once again shortly to see more which you have.

Reply

I was just looking for this article,wish you can write more blog later.thank you.

Reply
7/9/2012 05:50:26 pm

I think it's absolutely fantastic,best blog,best article,I might be coming back to your blog for more soon.

Reply
7/9/2012 05:52:04 pm

I am glad to visiting your site,more nice article,thank you for your information.

Reply
7/17/2012 10:49:55 am

Thank your for sharing useful purchasing ideas with us. Christian louboutin sale store mainly sales cheap exquisite christian louboutin 20 years. All our red buttoms heels are 2012 most popular studs footwear christian louboutin 2012. No matter how long it pasted, I do trust the leader position of christian louboutin ankle boots in fashion world will never change. Stylish and special christian louboutin bags not only make women more charming and eglegent, but also show mens unique charms and personal style fully. Our online shop supply you christian louboutin evening with new arrive, top quality and discount price. So 2012 christian louboutin flats studded bridal shoes must be your best choice for wedding. No matter you live in any place in the world including uk, you can buy free shipping christian louboutin high boots shoe or men flats on our website, we will send those red bottom shoes with 3-8 days fast delivery christian louboutin pumps, christian louboutin sandals outlet have no custom tax, accept dropship, so what are you waiting for christian louboutin slingback? http://www.christianlouboutinsalesaustralia.com/
WYF

Reply
xx
7/18/2012 07:13:35 pm

However, the standard Oriental boys and ladies if you don't lead appearance of the appreciate the means. Publication Trash blowing wind lowering Ke "in a poetry visits:" cutting Ke the best way?
http://xiamao.squarespace.com/blog/2012/7/18/super-bowl-rings.html

Reply
7/22/2012 11:06:09 am

i enjoy most of your articles,the articles are so nice for readers.

Reply
7/22/2012 11:07:13 am

i trully enjoy all of your blog and your different point is so good.very thank you.

Reply
7/22/2012 11:08:32 am

Enjoy all of your articles, good blog,good website,Thanks

Reply
7/24/2012 11:26:10 am

i trully enjoy most of your articles and your different point of view. Thanks.

Reply
7/24/2012 08:56:01 pm

We appreciate for sharing the good products with us. christian louboutin sale, slim heels with yes, generally with the moisture. This is not to say that they were once lost, but this time, christian louboutin ankle boots, they again to hold T stage, ending the thick with the revolution. This is also a little new meaning, christian louboutin 2012, that is thick with the slim and the combination of the palm part-shoes before hidden a thick, bottom, second half part a super high heels up fine. Slim shape with fluent, elegant and sexy. With as high, christian louboutin sales, look more attractive--of course, they are not for your feet offer much support. But looking at these beautiful shoes of christian louboutin daffodile a lot of people in the empty and fundamental can't remember what the human body engineering problems.Christian Louboutin Pumps, Thick with large base and thick with in the past a few season greatly popular, Christian Louboutin Sandals, it is a part of fashion houses also improved the agitation, carried it to a new season autumn winter. Although refined fine with the resurgence, we just investment near thick with shoes also shouldn't so wasted-its biggest advantage is easy to wear and walk. Christian Louboutin Sneakers, with these heel cone upper thicker, gradually to sharpening, and generally have a radian, Christian Louboutin Wedges, the last part of the contact with the ground is small. They are sexy, very interesting and very modern, can let a modelling instantly spirited. Christian Louboutin 20 Years. They are not classic modelling, so unless determined to in the next few years and great use them, or you don't want to buy.--llm

Reply
7/26/2012 06:12:39 pm

Thank your for sharing useful purchasing ideas with us. Christian louboutin sale store mainly sales cheap exquisite christian louboutin 20 years. All our red buttoms heels are 2012 most popular studs footwear christian louboutin 2012. No matter how long it pasted, I do trust the leader position of christian louboutin ankle boots in fashion world will never change. Stylish and special christian louboutin bags not only make women more charming and eglegent, but also show mens unique charms and personal style fully. Our online shop supply you christian louboutin evening with new arrive, top quality and discount price. So 2012 christian louboutin flats studded bridal shoes must be your best choice for wedding. No matter you live in any place in the world including uk, you can buy free shipping christian louboutin high boots shoe or men flats on our website, we will send those red bottom shoes with 3-8 days fast delivery christian louboutin pumps, christian louboutin sandals outlet have no custom tax, accept dropship, so what are you waiting for christian louboutin slingback? http://www.christianlouboutinsalesaustralia.com/
WYF

Reply
8/2/2012 04:08:17 pm

Interesting topic, come on!

Reply
6/25/2013 08:40:43 pm

Thanks for this wonderful posting.

Reply



Leave a Reply.