Picture
W-O-W. This was absolutely decadent and delicious! I saw this recipe on Martha Stewart's website and I knew that I could make a diet-friendly version.  Martha's recipe calls for whole milk and butter, both of which were cut out of my version (and not missed one bit!). Honestly, before I took the first bite, I was wary of how it would taste, but it reminded me of the Boston Market creamed spinach, but only better!! I quote my husband, "This is one of the best meals you have made yet." This is definitely going into the regular rotation. Enjoy :) 


Oh and I believe the KEY to this being so delicious is the fat free half and half.  I have been using this lately as a substitute for whole milk and it has worked wonders! 


*Swankers, unfortunately I found out that we cannot eat Land O Lakes Fat Free Half and Half because it contains mono-diglycerides, which is basically another form of hydrogenated oil.  I will attempt this recipe again with 1% milk or skim milk to see if I can come out with the same results!* 

Ingredients: 
  • 1 pound/1 bag of fresh spinach 
  • 1 tbsp of vegetable oil (I used Mazola)
  • 1 large shallot or 2 small ones, minced
  • 1 tbsp of all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup of Land O Lakes Fat Free Half and Half
  • Kosher salt
  • Pepper
Directions: 

Place the spinach in a large saucepan over medium heat (the spinach will fill up the entire pot) and season with kosher salt.  Cover and cook, tossing occasionally, until wilted, about 4 to 5 minutes.  Transfer the wilted spinach to a colander, and rinse thoroughly under cold water until completely cooled.  Then, put the spinach in a thin towel and squeeze as much liquid out of the spinach as possible.  Set aside. 

In a medium saucepan (I used the same one that I cooked the spinach in), heat the vegetable oil over medium-low heat, add the shallot, and season with salt and pepper.  Cook, stirring until soft but not browned for 3 to 5 minutes. 

Then, add the flour, and continue stirring for one minute (do not let it brown).  After that, add the 3/4 cup of fat free half and half.  Simmer gently over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, until thickened, for 1-2 minutes (or a little longer if necessary).  

Remove from heat, stir in the spinach and season with more salt and pepper to taste if necessary. ENJOY!
10/12/2009 12:12:35 pm

I agree about the FF half-and-half. It works wonders. It's good in coffee, too!!

Reply
10/13/2009 12:32:09 am

This looks yummy! I will be trying this soon!!

Reply
Ashley
10/26/2009 08:48:01 am

I made this and it was delicious! Very easy to make. I used Publix FF Half and Half and I think it gave it a sweet taste! Next time I will be trying Land O' Lakes to try to decrease the sweetness...

Reply
3/3/2011 04:26:49 pm

your website is so great that i love it very much. thank you for sharing it with us.

Reply
3/4/2011 02:09:19 pm

Never knew what was in tears, because of the loss, I tasted the taste of tears.

Reply
3/6/2011 05:24:28 pm

This a wonderful brand of most comfortabl shoes.

Reply
3/8/2011 05:23:50 pm

Your blog is so great . I'd like to read the information about it, so how does it work? Do you want to know the MBT shoes ? MBT shoes on hot sale !

Reply
3/9/2011 10:46:42 am

Just would like to say your article is striking. The clearness within your publish is merely spectacular and i can take for granted you might be an expert on this field. Nicely with your permission enable me to grab your rss feed to preserve up to date with forthcoming submit. Thank you a million and please retain up the successful operate.

Reply
3/10/2011 09:00:34 am

Just need to say your article is striking. The clearness inside your article is merely spectacular and i can take for granted you might be an expert on this field. Effectively with your permission enable me to grab your rss feed to retain up to date with forthcoming article. Thank you a million and please preserve up the efficient function.

Reply
3/13/2011 06:24:37 pm

you can find what you want to in here,make your life full of color ,it's a perfect website.

Reply
3/18/2011 01:49:16 pm

Your blog is so great . I'd like to read the information about it, so how does it work? Do you want to know the MBT shoes ? MBT shoes on hot sale !

Reply
3/20/2011 10:12:42 am

Thank you for taking this opportunity to talk about this, I feel strongly about it and I benefit from learning about this topic. If achievable, as you gain data, please update this weblog with new details. I have discovered it very valuable! I admiring time and effort you put within your weblog, due to the fact it's obviously one particular terrific place where I can locate great deal of helpful info. Bookmarked and I will share it. Thank you a great deal!

Reply
3/21/2011 01:47:52 pm

Your blog is so great . I'd like to read the information about it, so how does it work? Do you want to know the MBT shoes ? MBT shoes on hot sale ! Absence to love is what wind is to fire. It extinguishes the small; it inflames the great.

Reply
3/22/2011 10:32:25 am

Just wish to say your article is striking. The clearness within your put up is merely spectacular and i can take for granted you might be an expert on this field. Nicely with your permission enable me to grab your rss feed to maintain up to date with forthcoming publish. Thank you a million and please retain up the efficient operate.

Reply

Well , the view of the passage is totally correct ,your details is really reasonable and you give us valuable informative post, I totally agree the standpoint of upstairs. I often surfing on this forum when I m free and I find there are so much good information we can learn in this forum!

Reply
3/29/2011 04:30:25 pm

Living without an aim is like sailing without a compass.

Reply
4/21/2011 01:25:35 pm

If you wish to be the best man, you must suffer the bitterest of the bitter.

Reply
4/18/2012 04:18:13 pm

http://www.coachoutletonlinelife.com
http://www.mycoachoutletstoreonlinee.net
http://www.coachoutletstoreonlinem.net
http://www.coachfactoryoutletx.com
http://www.coachfactoryoutletonline-top.net
http://www.coachfactoryoutletc.com

Reply
4/18/2012 06:42:02 pm

I appreciate deeply for the kind of topics you post here. this information very useful and it has considerably saved my time. Thanks for allowing to comment to your post. Keep up the good work. Thanks

Reply
4/19/2012 01:45:27 pm

The Louis Vuitton piece is sure to make an impression on any travel mates you may have or even just to those sitting next to you in the airport, awaiting their flight.

Reply
Coach Factory Outlet
4/19/2012 05:00:51 pm

http://www.coachoutletusa-top.net
http://www.coachfactoryonlinea.net
http://www.coachoutletonline-top.net

Reply
4/23/2012 09:58:08 pm

Your blog is very beautiful, the style is very cool! See the things that I think is very interested in oh, thank you for sharing! I wish you good luck!

Reply
5/4/2012 12:23:12 pm

lin0505Your post have been very helpful!I am very great to see that!There will be good discount in order to back the support of majority of customers. http://www.cheaptoryburchonlines.com.

Reply
8/2/2012 12:00:47 pm

The price of a single product in this series are below $ 50 on the 10th at a retail store and the official website available for sale at the same time, the licensing of a fruit, a lot to learn it.

Reply



Leave a Reply.