Picture
I  love, love, love lasagna.  Who doesn't though?  I mean it's great for large crowds, great to freeze, great to reheat, and just tastes amazing.  Recently I was invited to a large family party where they served lasagna.  Of course I could not eat it, which made me want to make a michi-friendly version at home immediately.  There are a million lasagna recipes, but I think the classic recipes are the best.  Of course, when cooking low fat nothing is "classic", but I try to make dishes taste as close to the original as possible.  I used turkey instead of sausage or ground beef and fat free cheese instead of full fat cheese.  The outcome was definitely better than expected.  The spinach in the dish added a lot of delicious flavor and the Lifetime cheeses have yet to disappoint.  I'll definitely be putting this into the rotation.  Enjoy! 

Ingredients: 
  • 9 - 12 lasagna noodles (depending on the size of your baking dish)
  • 1 pound of extra lean ground turkey
  • 1 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil 
  • 2/3 cup of onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2/3 cup Italian flat leaf parsley, minced and divided
  • 3 (6oz) cans of  tomato paste 
  • 15 oz tomato sauce (I used Classico Tomato & Basil)
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1 1/2 tsp basil
  • 1 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 15 oz fat free cottage cheese
  • 10 oz frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained 
  • 1/4 cup of Rice Grated Topping, Parmesan Flavor
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 tsp garlic salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 3 cups fat free mozzarella cheese, shredded (Lifetime brand is best!)

Directions: 


Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. 


Cook the lasagna according to package directions.  Make sure to salt the pasta. Once al dente, take the noodles out of the water carefully with tongs and place them in a single layer on kitchen or paper towels.  This allows the noodles to dry straight without curling, which makes it easier to assemble the lasagna later. 

While the pasta is cooking, brown the turkey on medium heat in a medium pot with the olive oil. Crumble the turkey and make sure it is cooked evenly.  Add the onion, garlic, and 1/3 of the parsley to the pot.  Cook for a few minutes until the onions are translucent.  Mix in the tomato sauce, tomato paste, water, Italian seasoning, basil and oregano. Bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer for 10 minutes. 


Meanwhile, in a medium mixing bowl, combine the remaining 1/3 cup of parsley, cottage cheese, spinach, parmesan topping, eggs, garlic salt, and pepper.  Beat the mixture well until everything is blended evenly. 


After the sauce has simmered, spread two cups of the tomato sauce evenly into a 9x13 baking dish (or the closest size you have).  Then, place 3-4 lasagna noodles on top of the sauce.  After that, spoon the spinach mixture on top of the noodles evenly in a thin layer.  Spoon more tomato sauce on top of the mixture and then sprinkle with 1 cup of mozzarella cheese.  Layer 3-4 more lasagna noodles on top and then the remaining spinach mixture.  Then spread half of the remaining sauce and another cup of mozzarella cheese.  The final layer will have 3-4 noodles, the remaining sauce, and the remaining cheese. 


Cover tightly with aluminum foil and bake for 45 minutes. Remove the foil and cook 10-15 more minutes until the cheese is bubbly (remember fat free cheese melts and looks differently than regular cheese).  Let the lasagna cool for 10 minutes and serve.  


Bon Appetit! 



5/17/2010 03:19:45 pm

Dying to make this... Where do you find Lifetime cheese??

Reply
Michi
7/24/2010 08:28:13 pm

So sorry I didn't see this earlier! I get it at my local grocery store and they also carry it at Whole Foods. I know you can order it online as well. Any fat free cheese will do, but lifetime does melt the best!

Reply
12/15/2010 09:54:24 am

It really a useful idea.I will have a tiral of this idea as soon as possible as have already frustrated by them for a long time.Thank you very much for your continously post of effective tips.

Reply
1/3/2011 11:49:33 am

Treasures today, treasures the life, treasures you to have all.

Reply
1/4/2011 04:13:23 pm

: Patience, time, and money overcome everything.

Reply
1/11/2011 01:49:13 pm

We realize the true worth of happiness when we are in sorrow.

Reply

Goats love to explore.

Reply
2/17/2011 11:21:37 am

1 from the main variations in between a website along with a static web page will be the way individuals are capable of interact with the written content. What do you take into consideration that? I've many ideas but need to have to assume twice. Wish your tommorrow will likely be much better.

Reply
2/17/2011 11:26:12 am

Thank you for sharing this wonderful article.

Reply
2/22/2011 09:42:26 am

Great content and it's so helpful for me. But it's so weird that you blog is in a mess through my explorer. Is that my explorer problem? But it's pretty normal when exploring other blog.

Reply
2/22/2011 10:00:03 am

It was a incredibly pleasant notion! Just wanna say thank you for that data you will have shared nice sport footwear. Just carry on writing this type of post

Reply
3/1/2011 10:52:12 am

Well, How time flies! Spring is around the corner.

Reply
3/2/2011 10:40:49 am

you can find what you want to in here,make your life full of color ,it's a perfect website.

Reply
3/2/2011 02:20:24 pm

Great write-up. I feel you'll be able to publish far more and much more much better content articles. Take uncomplicated.

Reply
3/3/2011 10:01:40 am

I would like to thank you for the efforts you've got made in writing this submit. I am hoping the exact same greatest function from you inside the future too. Actually your creative writing abilities has inspired me to begin my own BlogEngine weblog now. Seriously the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is often a fine example of it.

Reply
3/4/2011 03:37:25 pm

your website is so great that i love it very much. thank you for sharing it with us.

Reply
3/6/2011 05:13:20 pm

you can find what you want to in here,make your life full of color ,it's a perfect website.

Reply
3/8/2011 05:23:55 pm

Your blog is so great . I'd like to read the information about it, so how does it work? Do you want to know the MBT shoes ? MBT shoes on hot sale !

Reply
3/10/2011 11:02:51 am

This shoe is super comfortable and lightweight.

Reply
3/11/2011 04:38:30 pm

I never understand what it means to live.You know we all love to just complain.But maybe we should try to rearrange.

Reply
3/13/2011 10:29:49 am

That's some inspirational stuff. Never knew that opinions could possibly be this varied. Thank you for all of the enthusiasm to provide such useful details here. I’m in fact fairly interested so will retain an eye out for updates! You are so great at obtaining what you would like to say out there in a way thats intelligent and entertaining. Im actually impressed!

Reply
3/13/2011 06:24:24 pm

you can find what you want to in here,make your life full of color ,it's a perfect website.

Reply
3/17/2011 10:23:30 am

Thank you for taking this opportunity to talk about this, I feel strongly about it and I benefit from learning about this topic. If achievable, as you gain data, please update this weblog with new details. I have discovered it very valuable! I admiring time and effort you put within your weblog, due to the fact it's obviously one particular terrific place where I can locate great deal of helpful info. Bookmarked and I will share it. Thank you a great deal!

Reply
3/21/2011 01:47:56 pm

Your blog is so great . I'd like to read the information about it, so how does it work? Do you want to know the MBT shoes ? MBT shoes on hot sale ! Absence to love is what wind is to fire. It extinguishes the small; it inflames the great.

Reply
3/22/2011 10:30:38 am

Just wish to say your article is striking. The clearness within your put up is merely spectacular and i can take for granted you might be an expert on this field. Nicely with your permission enable me to grab your rss feed to maintain up to date with forthcoming publish. Thank you a million and please retain up the efficient operate.

Reply
3/23/2011 02:10:20 pm

It’s very rare that you find the relevant information on the net but your article did provide me the relevant information. I am going to save your URL and will definitely visit the site again.

Reply
3/27/2011 04:53:39 pm

Goals determine what you are going to be.

Reply
3/29/2011 02:01:05 pm

Living without an aim is like sailing without a compass.

Reply
4/20/2011 05:13:58 pm

If you wish to be the best man, you must suffer the bitterest of the bitter.

Reply
4/26/2011 11:57:45 am

This shoe is like common operating shoes, but regardless of the function or its technologies within place it towards the best shoes Nike has made for operating.

Reply
4/26/2011 12:01:24 pm

Nike absolutely free could be the greatest shoes for selfrunning. It really is the barefoot operating shoes which made for wellness operating.

Reply
4/26/2011 12:45:34 pm

If you wish to be the best man, you must suffer the bitterest of the bitter.

Reply
4/28/2011 05:08:47 pm

this is an advance means of transportation, aside that you are enjoying riding but it attracts investors and tourists that can boosts the economic growth

Reply
3/11/2012 04:49:41 pm

Hello There. I located your weblog employing msn. This can be a really well written post. I’ll be confident to bookmark it and return to read extra of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

Reply
4/18/2012 04:15:22 pm

http://www.coachoutletonlinelife.com
http://www.mycoachoutletstoreonlinee.net
http://www.coachoutletstoreonlinem.net
http://www.coachfactoryoutletx.com
http://www.coachfactoryoutletonline-top.net
http://www.coachfactoryoutletc.com

Reply
4/18/2012 06:39:12 pm

I appreciate deeply for the kind of topics you post here. this information very useful and it has considerably saved my time. Thanks for allowing to comment to your post. Keep up the good work. Thanks

Reply
4/19/2012 01:35:43 pm

The Louis Vuitton piece is sure to make an impression on any travel mates you may have or even just to those sitting next to you in the airport, awaiting their flight.

Reply
4/19/2012 04:56:59 pm

http://www.coachoutletusa-top.net
http://www.coachfactoryonlinea.net
http://www.coachoutletonline-top.net

Reply
4/19/2012 06:15:15 pm


http://www.coachoutletusa-top.net
http://www.coachfactoryonlinea.net
http://www.coachoutletonline-top.net

Reply
4/23/2012 09:54:24 pm

Your blog is very beautiful, the style is very cool! See the things that I think is very interested in oh, thank you for sharing! I wish you good luck!

Reply
5/4/2012 12:24:09 pm

lin0505Your post have been very helpful!I am very great to see that!There will be good discount in order to back the support of majority of customers. http://www.cheaptoryburchonlines.com.

Reply
6/5/2012 11:54:28 am

Hi,I have been reading this blog for some time now but never bothered to comment until today. You made some good points there. The spirit of sharing is really impressive, and I want to share this article to my friends!

Reply
6/5/2012 11:59:49 am

I Wanted to let you know that I am a fan and enjoy your work.Thanks. I wanted to thank you for this great read!You’re so awesome! I don’t believe I’ve truly read something like this before.

Reply
7/1/2012 01:11:39 pm

Your blog is very informative and useful. You have written it very well. I have bookmarked your blog. Your blog written in very good, I like it very much, I will often come to.Thank you to let me see your blog, I love you blog style, very cool.Your blog too good, I will soon come back again, to keep at it.Your website is very beautiful, you do something great!!Your essay is good, I like it very much. Excellent Blog!

Reply
8/2/2012 04:06:09 pm

thank u so much.

Reply



Leave a Reply.