For those of you on Swank, I can imagine your shock while reading this.  I have been on the Swank Diet for 6.5 years, and can honestly say that I have cheated less times than I can count on one hand.  I have been dedicated! Even the thought of being off of it is weird to me.  Being a "Swanker" has been part of my identity for a while now.  

Although I have no idea how my body would have felt the last 6.5 years if I wasn't on Swank, the record has shown that this diet has not prevented my flare ups.  I have had consistent flare ups every six months to a year for the last 7 years.  I had to leave my career as a teacher and have barely been able to hold a part time job.  In my opinion, that's proof alone that this diet isn't doing what it's supposed to be doing.  

I have had more than one doctor tell me that the results of the 35+ year study on the diet are inconsistent and prove that the diet is not a reliable treatment for MS. I recently had my new doctor tell me this again, and I finally decided that the enormous effort I put in to keep up with this strict diet is simply not worth it.  I already have enough to deal with on a daily basis, why limit myself if it's unnecessary? 

That being said, being healthy IS extremely important for everyone and especially for people with MS. Many elements of the Swank diet are rules that everyone should follow.  For example, I still will not eat any hydrogenated oils, MSG, mono and diglycerides, trans fats, or anything from a fast food restaurant at any time. That stuff is poison, people!  I will still eat organic foods as much as possible, and avoid eating anything that is processed, deep fried, or has a lot of saturated fat.  My diet will still mainly consist of white meat poultry and fish/shellfish.  Most of my future recipes will still be "Swank Friendly" and I plan on making a new tag in my blog for those recipes.  Overall, my blog will still be a low fat and healthy blog. 

So, what is going to change? Here's the list for those of you that are really interested: 
  • I'm not going to eat fat free cheese again. From now on I'll eat part skim or 2% cheese
  • I'm going to introduce some parmesan into my diet (oh the recipe possibilities!)  
  • I'm going to eat Neufchatel cream cheese, which has 1/3 the fat of regular cream cheese
  • Red meat won't be a staple in our household, but it will probably make an appearance every couple of months.    
  • Butter will be used for some baking.  I absolutely love to bake and I am so restricted because of butter.  I plan on baking with it for special occasions and holidays.    
  • Cream/Half & Half/Butter will be introduced to some recipes in small quantities.  Sometimes you just need to thicken a sauce or soup and it's just impossible to do with skim or 1% milk. 
  • I'll eat low fat turkey bacon, not fat free.    
  • Eating out won't be so strict.  If I am at a party I won't necessarily have to bring my own food or have people cook separate meals for me.  I'll avoid the most unhealthiest options of course, but I won't be so limited. 
Well, that's all I can think of for now.  Those of you that are Swankers and follow my blog will definitely be able to cook future recipes.  You may have to make some simple substitutions in some recipes, and I'll point those out for you.  

So far, I am happy with my decision and excited about it.  We'll see how I do and how I feel in the next few months with my new doctor's plan. 

Oh and I almost forgot....

I had pizza last night for the first time in almost 7 years.  It was absolutely amazing and everything I dreamed it would be.  And I didn't get sick afterwards either. :)
Picture
Jamie
9/6/2010 07:13:40 am

Hi Michi, After reading todays entry I am so completely torn. I have been a "Swanker" since 6/1/10, and I honestly stated to feel the benefits within 2 weeks. I am slightly broken hearted that you will not b e doing SWANK and tamd said that you have not enjoyed the benefits from all of your hard work. However, i do understand your decision, and wish you much luck and health!

Reply
9/6/2010 08:53:50 am

Hi Jamie!

I really hope my blog entry does not discourage you from sticking to the diet. I know that it does work with some people and I do feel it's worth a good try. I just feel that my track record hasn't been the greatest while on the diet. I do remember feeling better after starting on it as well, which is why I am not going to make any drastic changes.

I still plan on keeping the diet 98% of the time. The changes I am making are mainly going to affect special occasions/parties and holidays. Even then, I'm not going to go back and add fattening ingredients to recipes I already love.

Good luck and I hope it works well for you!

:)

Reply
9/28/2010 06:14:47 pm

The photo is beautiful. Thank you for you personally site. Also, I desire to share the expertise with you, we must learn much more material within the internet ahead of we store for any pair of Supra Shoes.

Reply
10/17/2010 02:06:20 pm

I telephone call for him like I telephone call using the oxygen to breathe.

Reply
10/18/2010 06:43:17 pm

Not because of change garments according to the season is not without distance without looking for you, Not because of you, Not from a busy and time and forget you, In the autumn is strong, I sincerely wish to you.

Reply
10/20/2010 07:51:12 pm

Wow, that you are impressive. I’ve been following factors of this remarkably rigid instruction system and I didn't even know! I've to become a all-natural no shock I appear and sense astounding a good deal around the time. It will bechallenging changing into this astounding is just not it!

Reply
11/8/2010 04:06:54 pm

In the network world, Trust is the foundation, The sincerity is a condition, Tolerance and understanding is the precondition, Is a network let us gather, Is the space for us to communicate, Are friends greetings touched me.

Reply
11/23/2010 01:36:47 pm

Hi, this is useful weblog, i need it, i can learn more, thanks; it comes from does not siwm's fish 11-24-2010.

Reply
11/24/2010 02:05:23 pm

The greatest happiness is to work for education.

Reply
11/24/2010 04:04:36 pm

I have a great admiramation for you,you know since your ariticle is fluent and of enough content expression.

Reply
11/28/2010 02:04:01 pm

Happiness depends on our attitudes to life

Reply
11/28/2010 04:42:56 pm

Still be the white snow princess in be passionately in love, allow when to be awaited.

Reply
11/29/2010 03:02:32 pm

I will never forget the splendid time we spent together.

Reply
12/7/2010 09:05:35 am

Cabo bendiciones, un amigo de enriquecimiento todos desea! *

Reply
12/9/2010 10:43:25 am

it's been a great day!*

Reply
KM
12/10/2010 05:22:26 am

Hi,
I have been following your blog since I first experienced MS-like symptoms in March 2009. I have been loosely following the Swank Diet since May 2009, and fortunately I seem to be doing well without having to actually count grams of fat (my 9 month pregnancy probably also helped). I am really sorry to hear that the Swank Diet hasn't prevented your flare ups. I can't imagine being as committed as you were and not experiencing all of the benefits of the diet.

I've never posted on a blog before, but I feel compelled to now for some reason. I am curious, do you know what your blood type is? I ask because when I was first researching the Swank Diet, and the effects of diet on MS, I came across this story on the internet, in which a woman with MS says that the "Blood Type Diet" helped with her MS symptoms: http://bit.ly/hSCEsW

The thing I found really interesting was that because the woman's blood type is O, she was encouraged to eat some things that are "no nos" on the Swank diet (e.g., beef), and to not eat some things that are Swank-friendly (e.g., wheat). This seemed like it might be consistent with what I'd read in the MS Recovery Diet book (by Sawyer & Bachrach), which suggests that each person with MS has unique food triggers (including wheat). My own blood type is Type A, and conveniently the Type A diet is consistent with the Swank Diet (it is "difficult for Type As to digest and metabolize animal protein and fat"). I always wondered if this is why the Swank Diet seems to be helping me.

This comment is not meant to be an advertisement for the Blood Type Diet, nor am I criticizing your decision to stop strictly following any diet. In fact, I totally understand and support your decision to simply focus on eating healthy and enjoying life. For me, the best part about the Swank Diet is feeling like I have a tiny bit of control over my health. That's why I just wanted to put this information out there in case you ever want to look into some other options.

Best wishes! - KM

Reply
12/12/2010 05:20:25 pm

Too many people live too much in the past.

Reply
12/13/2010 11:58:34 am

The round moon is a symbol for completeness, family reunion

Reply
12/15/2010 09:53:31 am

Write very well, there are some others that resonate.

Reply
12/15/2010 02:37:16 pm

None is of freedom or of life deserving unless he daily conquers it anew.

Reply
12/28/2010 09:44:12 am

It really a useful idea.I will have a tiral of this idea as soon as possible as have already frustrated by them for a long time.Thank you very much for your continously post of effective tips.

Reply
2/20/2011 02:12:40 pm

How excellent together with lovely it appears to be! That is my fortune to read of the valuable stuff through your blog.I am often interested in the so pretty and trend stuff related to the clothing and sports shoes.Thus hope to exchange with you upon the nervous work.

Reply
3/23/2011 02:10:13 pm

It’s very rare that you find the relevant information on the net but your article did provide me the relevant information. I am going to save your URL and will definitely visit the site again.

Reply
4/28/2011 05:09:00 pm

this is an advance means of transportation, aside that you are enjoying riding but it attracts investors and tourists that can boosts the economic growth

Reply
Bs
5/25/2011 03:59:59 am

I have a girlfriend who has had MS for 5 years now. We've both just started on the swank diet. We too haven't seen any good results yet but are not discouraged. I have to ask, after reading so many other peoples post on other sites and their great recovery, don't you wonder about why you're not getting better as well? Maybe it isn't the diet itself. We went and tried several different avenues; Atlas adjustment, rehab therapy, bee stings, ccsvi... but honestly, the diet seems the best. We're even going to do the food sensitiviy test to narrow the problems. Maybe there's just one little thing that you've been overlooking the whole time that's really the only thing holding you back from getting better. Afterall, food's just here to keep us going so we can live and do things. Society live's for food too much these days and forgets about the actual physical things we want out of life. Look at China... no MS there! North America, feasting on fat and chemical laced foods. Of course we're not health here! Don't give up!!!

Reply
3/18/2012 04:53:21 pm

To make a good decision. Can let you useful life.

Reply
tionya
3/22/2012 06:54:49 am

What are you doing now Michi? I just started the swank diet and have been loving readin your recipes. I also found you on fb but you don't seem to be on anything anymore. Just doing a check up to see how you are doing?

Reply
4/6/2012 12:52:38 pm

Your blog is very beautiful, the style is very cool! See the things that I think is very interested in oh, thank you for sharing! I wish you good luck!

Reply
4/10/2012 03:57:16 pm


Your blog is very informative and useful. You have written it very well. I have bookmarked your blog.

Reply
4/10/2012 05:44:01 pm

, shall, upon conviction, be punished by confinement and hard labor not exceeding five years

Reply
4/18/2012 04:23:42 pm

http://www.coachoutletonlinelife.com
http://www.mycoachoutletstoreonlinee.net
http://www.coachoutletstoreonlinem.net
http://www.coachfactoryoutletx.com
http://www.coachfactoryoutletonline-top.net
http://www.coachfactoryoutletc.com

Reply
4/18/2012 04:23:42 pm

http://www.coachoutletonlinelife.com
http://www.mycoachoutletstoreonlinee.net
http://www.coachoutletstoreonlinem.net
http://www.coachfactoryoutletx.com
http://www.coachfactoryoutletonline-top.net
http://www.coachfactoryoutletc.com

Reply
4/18/2012 06:45:43 pm

I appreciate deeply for the kind of topics you post here. this information very useful and it has considerably saved my time. Thanks for allowing to comment to your post. Keep up the good work. Thanks

Reply
4/19/2012 01:51:58 pm

The Louis Vuitton piece is sure to make an impression on any travel mates you may have or even just to those sitting next to you in the airport, awaiting their flight.

Reply
4/19/2012 05:06:07 pm

Stephen Schwarzman plus Pete Billings, proprietors in the Blackstone Crew, economic investment decision giant.

Reply
4/23/2012 10:02:54 pm

Your blog is very beautiful, the style is very cool! See the things that I think is very interested in oh, thank you for sharing! I wish you good luck!

Reply
5/4/2012 12:25:05 pm

lin0505Your post have been very helpful!I am very great to see that!There will be good discount in order to back the support of majority of customers. http://www.cheaptoryburchonlines.com.

Reply
5/9/2012 07:37:36 pm

I was working and suddenly I visits your site frequently and recommended it to me to read also. The writing style is superior and the content is relevant. Thanks for the insight you provide the readers!

Reply
5/21/2012 03:32:54 pm

The purpose of this study is not to treat ambiguity and ambivalence

Reply
5/30/2012 05:32:29 pm

The manufacturers of these kinds of shoes always care about their customer’s choice and demands and they don’t make a situation which often can effect on their clients demands. All their models and designs on their air Jordan shoes get different sizes
http://www.hoganoutletsitoufficiale.com

Reply
6/12/2012 01:13:31 pm

finish see the mother love me again again" found that, dad unreliable finish see the new

Reply
6/29/2012 01:57:29 pm

Votre passeport vous sera remis à la mairie du lieu de dépôt.

Reply
7/18/2012 04:17:48 pm


-- The particular client has to be your long lasting resident with the BRITAIN.

-- Your dog will need to have the banking accounts with his / her very own identify.

-- Your dog desires to store a charge card.

Reply
7/25/2012 06:52:25 pm

hot-blooded lechers or men who, in the fellowship of the fight

Reply
8/1/2012 05:06:18 pm

bai du is a Search engine flk;a

Reply
8/2/2012 04:05:06 pm

Interesting topic, come on!

Reply
9/8/2012 07:08:40 pm

flexibility relates to their particular wristwatches. Using many Switzerland Affiliate marketer different watches intended for males, your choices may appear infinite.

Reply
9/21/2012 04:27:58 pm

kudos! A trustworthy blog, thanks for putting an effort to publish this information. very informative and does exactly what it sets out to do. thumbs up! :)

Joseph Aidan
www.arielmed.com

Reply
10/4/2012 04:36:33 am

Wow, thats quite a shot Michi. I bet the pizza was awesome!

Reply
11/9/2012 06:23:13 pm

I already have enough to deal with on a daily basis, why limit myself if it's unnecessary?

Reply
1/1/2013 09:59:02 am

I’m impressed. Very informative and trustworthy blog does exactly what it sets out to do. I’ll bookmark your weblog for future use.

Joseph
www.joeydavila.com

Reply
lilly
4/13/2013 09:11:31 pm

HI STUMBLED UPON THIS SITE.........ITS INTRESTING! WAS DIAGNOSED WITH M.S IN 2008. I WAS LOOKING AT WAYS TO HELP MY M.S........ I WAS WONDERING HAVE YOU EVER THOUGHT IF YOU WOULDNT HAVE BEEN ON THE SWANK DIET YOUR RELAPSE MAY OF BEEN TWICE AS BAD? I DONT BELEIVE IT WILL ILLIMINATE THE M.S ALL TOGETHER BUT MAYBE MAKE A RELAPSE A LITTLE LESS INTENSE?

Reply
5/17/2014 08:58:33 pm

awesome post – loved it and it was extremely helpful – my husband just joined and I had no clue how to wash his new gi . . . until now p.s love the white viniger suggestion I am gonna try it

Reply
5/17/2014 08:59:26 pm

The post is a good one. Anyone’s audience is a group of individuals. Nothing can change it.\r\n\r\nNice article written here. I got to know a few more things about the topic

Reply
5/17/2014 11:09:08 pm

Really good finds here, Corvida! Like most of the other commentors, I've never seen Google Analytics AIR and a couple of these others. I love new AIR toys!

Reply



Leave a Reply.